Development of a Behavioral Policy

The IGDORE Global Board has begun the work with developing a behavioral policy specifying what expectations we have on our researchers and staff members with regard to pro-social behaviors.

This thread is created with the primary purpose to invite everyone in the IGDORE community to share their thoughts and ideas on the matter. In addition will the Global Board keep you all updated in this thread on our own thoughts and discussions on the matter. Stay tuned and do join the discussions!

Deadline for input: December 23rd, 2019

UPDATE (January 2020): THESE DISCUSSIONS CONTINUE AND WE STILL WELCOME YOUR CONTRIBUTION. ANYONE INTERESTED IN THE TOPIC IS WARMLY WELCOME TO PARTICIPATE IN THE DISCUSSIONS, REGARDLESS OF AFFILIATION.

3 Likes

Thanks rebecca. Will think about this. :slight_smile:

Also, there is a spelling mistake in the medium announcement.

“
 as these emails will be recieved by all board members.”

1 Like

Hi everyone. I’m new to the community, I am also here solely because I am astonished by the amount of integrity that Rebecca displayed during the Twitter “debate”.

Respect.

So maybe if IGDORE is planning to go down the social COC path, my thoughts:

1. “Don’t break the law” rule should be sufficient for any CoC

2. If you want to be very welcoming you could add “don’t be a dick” rule but enforcing this is hard.

3. Anonymity of the reporter is a myth and should not be encouraged. If this would be possible in the real life -people would not have to testify on the stand. It may easily lead to abusing the system.

4. The parties should talk to each other as the first measure to resolve the issues.

5. Only if 4. fails IGDORE could step in to mediate the talks. This is basically to ensure that we can all coexist with each other what should be the ultimate goal.

6. Any issues that break the law (with sufficient evidence) need to be reported to the authorities.

8 Likes