Proprietary Information & Lack of Openness in Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Hi all,

I work in the field of I/O psychology, where it´s customary for consultancy firms to sell solutions supposedly based on research. The best example are psychometric tests. Firms will publish on their websites the technical manuals or whitepapers for their tests, which include the “research” supporting their products. Unfortunately, often times these do not include basic things such as sampling method. And even in cases where they do include information, it is often incomplete or questionable (i.e. full test statistics, power analysis, effect size reporting, etc.). These tests are then used for actual scientific research, from dissertations to peer-reviewed journals. I think this is very problematic, and am actually thinking of exploring this systematically. Does anyone else find this in their fields? Is anything being done about it?

I´ll appreciate everyone´s thoughts.

Best Fernando

1 Like

There’s a similar problem in engineering research. Organizations, public and private, have technical reports or white papers which are cited in the broader literature despite the reports not being readily available, the reports omitting critical details, and/or the quality of the studies being questionable. Documents called “white papers” are far more likely to be questionable in my experience and probably serve more to get consulting clients or other external funding than actually advance understanding.

Sometimes technical reports are submitted to journals, often in in abbreviated form. But they aren’t always accepted. And in that case, even if the technical report is good, it can be very difficult to locate.

The issue of “grey literature” is related: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grey_literature