Affiliation process

Hi! I am a PhD student affiliated with the Medical Anthropology Research Center of Universitat Rovira i Virgili (Tarragona, Spain). I have been interested in IGDORE since I was an undergraduate student. Back then I was lucky enough to work as a research assistant for a couple of professors from Stanford Law School and The Geneva Graduate Institute. Now my research project is funded by the Spanish government via one of the most competitive grants in the country.

The issue at hand is, I don’t understand what are the requisites to become an affiliate with IGDORE. Back when I was an undergraduate / master’s student I just assume I wasn’t “good enough” to be considered a researcher, and thus admitted. But I don’t get why I am also being rejected now, and why the process seems so random and lacking transparency.

For an organization intended to support independent researchers that may be working outside academia / following different learning and practicing paths, and devoted to encourage and support open science practices, this all seems a bit odd.

I know IGDORE has had bad experiences with people abusing the affiliation to publish plagiarized content, etc, and screening is necessary, but I think values like openness, fairness and transparency should be guiding principles of the process.

Just posting this message because I share the values expressed in the mission statement of IGDORE, and care for initiatives like yours to flourish and prosper. I don’t really need the affiliation for any practical purpose. I just want to show support, and can do it without being an affiliate. I just hope it will help others that can really benefit from it.

3 Likes

Hi Enric,

As I am in charge of screening affiliation requests, I might be the best one to give you an answer here.