Tips on negotiating a nomadic/virtual PhD position

Hi all!

I am new in this forum, and heard about IGDORE’s mission and thought it was fantastic.

I wanted to ask you for advice. Given my question I think I am at the right place.

I have an interview for a PhD position in the Netherlands coming up soon, and my ideal scenario would be to be a nomadic/virtual researcher, at least in a partial way. How feasible do you think this is?

I wondered whether someone here has done their PhD in a non-presential way, and how did it come about. Did you have to negotiate it with your employeer/supervisor? Were they fine and supportive with the idea? If you have any tips that I can take to my interview, I would greatly appreciate it! I assume that being very open about it since the beginning it’s a good thing, but should I bring it up during the interview itself? What do senior academics think of it?

Thanks!

3 Likes

Hi @oliviodare, welcome to the forum! We are happy to meet you here!

I don’t believe I personally know someone who finished their PhD this way but I am myself considering about pursuing a PhD this way. I think my employer won’t be against this. But I am also not completely sure about all of this, maybe full independence could be the best decision these days.

Firstly, I would like to suggest to read this article:

I hope our more experienced members: @rebecca, @Enrico.Fucci, @Gavin, @CataTorres, @kartika are gonna join to this discussion to share their opinions and new insights.

Let’s see maybe someone else can show us something exciting on this issue.

Actually, I find your questions quite interesting and I am really looking forward to how this thread will unfold.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum, @oliviodare!